RSS

So Happy and Gay

15 Mar

Marco’s comedy bar expectations:

Going to a comedy bar seemed a great way to top my day then. I had another requirement to do that day which was by group, and we decided to do it at a friend’s house in Valle Verde. The group work wasn’t that heavy, and we had a lot of time to spare after. We killed time by playing table tennis, which for us is a really nice sport to play with friends. Two of us at that house were planning to go to the comedy bar later that night, and at first we were thinking twice because it was already getting late. By the time we left the house it was already eight o’clock, and I still had to drop off one of my friends and go home.

When I got home I told my mom that I was leaving again to go to a comedy bar. She gave me a surprised look and when I asked, she gave me a few warnings about it. She told me that she had been to a comedy bar once and didn’t enjoy it. She said that the stand-up comedians will most likely be gay, and that their humor isn’t amusing. She found that the jokes of the comedians were more of insulting rather than funny, and also that the way they treated the audience was just too rude. One thing that she really remembers about her visit is when the comedian sort of forced her into giving money. She was only fixing her bag and the comedian called out to her, saying out loud that she was giving a donation. With the things she said I began to feel a bit nervous about going, but I decided to still go and be on guard about those things.

Irene’s comedy bar expectations:

As a dormer, I make it a point to go home every weekend after Saturday class. On the rare instances that I don’t, my mom gets angry and makes tampo, which makes me feel guilty even if I choose to stay in Katipunan not to go out for drinks or to gimmicks with my friends, but to finish up on requirements and do group projects. The night before going to the Comedy Bar, I got into a fight with my mom because she wanted me home for the weekend and I obviously wouldn’t be able to make it. The next day was spent lazing around in my dorm, waiting for Marco to fetch me before we both headed to the Comedy Bar. We arranged to meet up at 8:30 in the evening, which would have given us some time to figure out how to get to the bar but as usual, he was running a tad bit late. By the time we got there, it was a little past 10- about an hour later than the actual meeting time. Upon entering, we immediately had to shell out P300.00 which to my surprise, did not even come with a complimentary drink. The attendant at the front desk ushered us to our seats- somewhere in front of the bar which gave us a pretty good view of the stage. I looked around the dimly lit room and I noticed that a majority of the people in the area were my schoolmates. Some I knew by name while most, just by their faces. After shouting out a greeting or two to those I knew around me, I took a seat and started to observe.

Our Analysis:

The moment we got inside the bar, the comedians were already shouting. The bar was jam-packed with people and it was hard to get to our seat. Since we were late, our schoolmates filled us in on what we had missed. Apparently, one of the SA students was called on stage by the gay comedians (Marco: I guess my mom was right in saying that the comedians were most likely gay). He was criticized for his good looks and he was even given a kiss on the cheek. They didn’t stop with him though, because when we were there they were still calling on people to go up on stage to sing and be the butt of their jokes. The first guy we saw on stage didn’t seem to react that much to the banter of the comedians. We’re guessing it was his way of avoiding being ridiculed on stage. But when it came to singing, we both felt that he gave his all during his performance.

A new set of comedians came on stage and they promptly called on another woman who was in her mid-40’s; a bailkbayan from the Middle East (neither of us can remember which country exactly). We noticed that when she was up on stage, she kept her distance from the comedians and had a rather reserved composure. Her throat was also twitching, which Marco believes was a sign of agitation. When being teased or made fun of, she would counter the comedians with her own put-downs. It was understandable though because the humor of those comedians was really vulgar, lewd, and rash. She successfully kept her composure on stage but in our opinion, it was a struggle and required a lot of effort on her part.

After that act came two comedians who, according to our schoolmates, had gone out on stage before we got there. They started off with the same routine, which was to go about the audience and asking them information about themselves. One thing we remember was that they focused on our Korean schoolmates for a while and made a few jokes about them. But their jokes were less insulting and were a directed a bit more towards themselves. From interacting with the audience, they found out that a number of people were from Ateneo. Upon learning this, we noticed that the comedians shifted their comedy act to an argument that was about their lack of education. In our opinion, this was a better act because all the jokes were directed towards themselves and the comedians were able to gauge what kind of humor the audience would appreciate. No one from the audience would be put in a compromising position wherein they’d be laughed at.

It was only when we were leaving that we got a good look at the audience, because we were seated in front. One thing Irene noticed was that most of them were of working age, around 20 to 40 years old. Also, Marco noticed that most of them appeared to be from the middle class of society. Common to all of them was that they were all laughing and enjoying their time.

That night was really a good way to end the day because we had a few good laughs and discovered a new place that some people go to.

Marco C. Paderanga and Irene A. Navarro

SA 21 Section P

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 15, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
