RSS

Sunday Sitcom

15 Mar

On a regular Sunday, my family and I would be going to church, eating lunch and, sometimes, dinner and then we would be on our way home, and then study for the next day’s requirements. It was interesting how March 11, 2012 was different from any other Sunday. I had running finals that morning, at around six o’clock in the morning. As I got home, we decided to attend the night service so that we can go around later.

It was that Sunday night when my family and I decided to go to a comedy bar. Yes, it was something unusual. We don’t really do it as a way to bond, but I suggested it since I needed to do it as one of my requirements for Sociology and Anthropology. The idea of going to a comedy bar has always excited my father, so he had no second thoughts about it. He says that it was always a way for him to relax and unwind from all the heavy workload that he had to do. It’s true that the performance with the actors and the actresses were funny but most of the time, it is his laughter is what makes my family and I laugh than what it is being shown or done.

Zirkoh – a comedy bar along Timog Avenue, Quezon city. The exterior was different from what I imagined. There was a glass door that served as an entrance with streaming different-colored bright lights exiting the bar and into my eyes. It was quite scary. Honestly, it looked like a bar that people go to do drink and party. I stuck to my sister like glue, hoping that she wouldn’t let go, as we entered the bar. Upon entering the bar, I was quite surprised. There weren’t anything unusual or strange. There were chairs and couches and a platform that was used for the stage. In the dominant darkness, there were more streaming lights of yellow, blue, pink, and green. As the scattered lights hit in different places, I saw quite a number of people. I’m guessing some were usual customers by the excitement that registered in their faces. My dad, too, was quite excited himself.

In the past, Zirkoh has had Filipino actors Jose (from GMA) to perform or host for them. It was unfortunate that I did not witness it the night I went there. But the performances were entertaining all the same.

It must be an in thing in this generation to have a couple of homosexuals perform and host. It is true that a lot of the acts and performances that are being done centered on the gay community. I noticed that rarely, or none at all, of the lesbian community performed or were part of the acts. There were different acts that happened that night. One was a hosting section that was most probably a skit. The next were a couple of actors—or should I say “actresses”—that sang to different songs, mimicking the original singers.

Personally, I had a better time at Zirkoh than I thought I would. My parents were laughing hard and my sister was impressed at the singers (when they actually sang seriously). Unlike my parents, it was my first time going to a comedy bar. During that time, I was able to observe and realize so many things about how society perceives and describes funny. One of the things that characterized hilarious to the audience was jokes that circulated around homosexuals. It was, for the audience, funnier when homosexuals themselves make fun of other homosexuals as well. Another thing that I observed is that the audience finds it funny whenever there are green jokes. The intensity of the audience’s laughter depended on how indecent the jokes were. Another definition of funny for the audience was how well the actors mimicked and portrayed the singers they mocked or the seriousness of their voice attached to their hilarious facial expressions.

The word funny or comedic differs from person to person or from a certain group of people to another. But as time passed, funny has become a unified concept. What one person found funny usually is funny to another as well. I noticed this in Zirkoh, how the audience laughed at the same things at the same time and silence was common amongst the audience when they didn’t find something funny.

I would not have thought that I would go to a comedy bar, but I am glad that I did. The experience allowed me to understand things that I did not think that were important to understand. Being in Zirkoh, the concept of funny evolved into something that could be related in studying Sociology and Anthropology and something that is not just an ordinary idea or concept.

 

104202

Section Q

SA21; Skilty Labastilla

 
 

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

 
