RSS

Journey to a Gay World

12 May

Whenever I think of comedy bars, I often think of a place where people would go to drink beers and a place where people would go to have a great amount of laughter. The reason why I view comedy bars as that is because I have never been to any comedy bars until I was suggested to go to a comedy bar (Specifically, Laffline Comedy Bar).

Before I entered Laffline, I noticed that there were numerous colorful lights right outside the bar. The reason why they have this must be because the colorfulness represents liveliness. That is what I really expected. And as I went in, it turns out that I was right: It was a very lively place. I have no doubt that it was lively because the place was so noisy that I have a hard time talking and listening to other people.

In the program of the show, I noticed that the guest hosts were gays (well at first, I thought one of them is a female but eventually the host revealed his gender).  All hosts were gays except for one, whose gender is female. Throughout the program, the gay hosts were very talkative.  They kept on making jokes; however for me, most of them were not amusing because their jokes involve the discussion of the reproductive organs (green jokes), cussing and teasing people (such as the old man. One of the hosts was making fun of the old man all night.).  In this culture, jokes such as green jokes, and jokes that make fun of other people are the jokes that make people laugh the most; so I think, this is why the hosts were making such jokes all night.

It is quite unusual for me to see gays. So seeing a bunch of them was quite an experience, especially since they really looked and dressed up like girls. My friends and I were really wondering if the hosts were gays or females but it ended up that we were able to distinguish the gays from the females. The thing that sets the gay hosts apart from the female host was their expressiveness. By simply being expressive, they can make a lot of jokes that could make the audience laugh; while on the other hand, the female host is not very expressive. She just laughs at the host’s jokes.

I kind of dislike gays but there are probably some reasons why such hosts were hired. As mentioned earlier. The gay hosts were very expressive. They don’t mind expressing their opinions, their organs and cusses. Since the jokes are funny and acceptable to the culture, they are considered entertaining people. Another reason would be their talent and creativity. Of course, having the capability of entertaining the audience involves some sort of creativity but they were more than that. They could do things that aren’t normally seen. For example, there was a gay host that could sing within the octave of a female and within the octave of the male and I find that really entertaining. Some gays were able to make sounds of fireworks by simply using their mouth; while some hosts are able to sing or dance well.

Despite all these entertainment, I didn’t really enjoy Laffline that much because for me, it is a very noisy place; my ear is not used to loud atmospheres. Not only that but I don’t enjoy green jokes and I also don’t enjoy people cussing.  However If I were to blend with the culture, then probably Laffline would be a great place for me to be entertained. And I wouldn’t complain much. But that’s just who I am.  I don’t like places with such atmospheres. Because of all these, I left early.

A few days after that night, my friend told me that I missed something nice. He said that I missed a hot chic with a very beautiful voice. I did notice the female hosts and that each guest host would have a chance to perform (They are guest hosts after all) so I was also expecting the female host to sing. But despite this, I still left because deep inside me, I know that I shouldn’t objectify females otherwise it is like I am dehumanizing them. I have no regrets leaving early because my goal was to observe the place and not to have fun.

As I reflect through my experiences, I think I did the right thing by not trying to dehumanize a female; however I think I seemed to have dehumanized the gays. I should remember that they are still human beings. And that they were only raised differently and have different perspectives in life. So now, I learned that I should learn to respect these gays and be aware on how I am looking at them.

Going through Laffline was really a new learning experience for me. It made me grasp the other part of the world that I have never experienced in real life. It taught me many things about comedy bars and gays. But it also taught me that such culture could be as wild as that and that I must learn to accept them and treat the unusual people as people.

100817

Matthew Chris Chan

III-BSM AMF

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 12, 2012 in Laffline

 

Leave a Reply

 
