RSS

An On-air Experience

28 Feb

     The student jock takes his place in the booth area next to three other people across the “board”. Before talking to his colleagues, he tapped on his microphone, making sure that they’re not yet working.  They started discussing which topic seems interesting to talk about on-air. Once they have settled, they then assigned someone to be in charge of promotions and another person to serve as the anchor.  The anchor sets the volume slider for each microphone at equal levels. He takes a deep breath before looking at everyone, waiting for their approval. He clears his throat, pushes the “On” button, and the radio show commences.

     A typical scene before a radio show starts would probably look like that; for Magis Radio, at least. Magis Radio is a student-run internet radio of the Ateneo de Manila University under the spearheading of the Association of Communication Majors (ACOMM). It is the brain child of Rica Fajardo, the former ACOMM Vice President. The program is only on its soft launch, trying to train its members prior to their major launch which they plan to have early next school year. I decided to hold my participant observation exercise within Magis Radio because a few of my friends and acquaintances are student jocks for major radio companies in the country. I wanted to experience how a radio show actually works and how it is different from the regular shows on television or the internet. My friends Bits and Carebear volunteered to be my key informants for the activity, who themselves are DJs and have been appearing, so to speak, in numerous radio shows already which makes their demonstration of the essentials of being a DJ quite reliable.

     I walked into the booth area expecting a pool of people who will unconsciously intimidate me. Fortuitously, they were all very genial and accommodating. I arrived in the middle of a briefing session so they decided to include me to save time. During the briefing, I was made familiar to a few technical terms which are completely necessary for anyone who operates the equipment. The board can be likened to a control center because it basically controls everything: on- or off-air button, microphones, and volume. The act of using the board is called ‘boarding’. The anchor is a person who leads a show and is in charge of all the technical settings for the other DJs as well. To avoid miscommunication, he is the sole person who can ‘board’ during a show whenever there is a multiple-DJ show on-air although the presence of an anchor depends on what show they are having. After the briefing, we were all set to go on-air, well they were, at least. I was still a bit iffy because that would be the first time I will be experiencing radio in its most raw form.

The board.

The board.

     Before going on-air, they let me try to host The Playlist. For that particular show, an anchor by himself is enough. As an anchor, I had to make sure that there will be no dead air in between songs. Dead air, as Bits and Gab (one of the student DJs) have told me, is considered a mortal sin for radio. From time to time, I can improvise spiels to introduce the next song or to entertain a request from a listener. So, what I actually did was to talk to the listeners for about two minutes and introduced the first song I will play. Before the end of the first song, I had to think of a spiel to introduce the next song and to welcome listeners who have just tuned in. I found it quite odd to hear how your voice will sound like on radio. It was relatively easy, but I think I wasn’t used to doing it yet that I stuttered at the end of my sentence. For those unwanted instances, having a co-host would come in handy since you have someone else who may salo whatever you left hanging. In cases like mine, though, what people normally do is to laugh it off and just carry on.

Hosting "The Playlist"

Hosting “The Playlist”

     The show for that particular day and time was Magis Mic. It basically focuses on random things and anything which was headlined for the past days. When we had gone on-air, Gab was our anchor and he started off the show by introducing Bits and me (I had a DJ name by the way, DJ Mashu) and by telling people that I will be around for a project. After that, he initiated a conversation by telling us about what a good time is for him. Bits had her share of story-telling after that before I got mine. It felt quite unnatural, at least for me, since I am conscious that people geographically remote are listening to me. Bits and Gab really know their way around being a DJ and were very nonchalant about talking on the radio. We talked for almost seven minutes so Gab decided to end the conversation and played a song right after. I was commended for being able to relate my story to what they have already told because apparently, other things radio shows aim for are spontaneity and chemistry between the DJs. Kudos to me, then!

     The whole experience with Magis Radio or radio shows in general can be likened to meeting an entirely unknown person. You want to open a conversation and as much as possible, you do not want any awkward silence or dead air in between. At the same time, you want to maintain the fluidity of the conversation but in your head, you begin to think of possible topics or question you want to ask that person next. The main difference though is proximity: you have your whole body to aid you in your conversation with a person but on a radio, your words literally say it all. Whenever you commit a mistake, you have to make up for it merely with words. A major advantage of being on a radio, on the other hand, is the absence of people itself. Without people looking at you, you do not feel as conscious as when there are. The radio is a really foreign entity for me and something positive I see about my experience is it taps on a different aspect in people. Having witnessed and experienced the nitty-gritty of radio shows makes me want more of it: from the moment we went on-air until we uttered, “Magis Radio, now signing off.”

With the rest of the Magis Radio team.

With the rest of the Magis Radio team.

ALBAIRA, Matthew M. | 110103 | SA 21 Section P

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 28, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
